303-447-2074
1107 Pearl Street, Boulder, CO 80302
Mon-Sat: 10am-10pm | Sun: 11am-7pm
My Account

Sci Fi & Fantasy Recommendations

Staff Pick Badge
Under the Whispering Door By TJ Klune Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250217349
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Tor Books - September 21st, 2021

Waking up to witness his own funeral and finding only five people in attendance, death is not what Wallace Price expected. More surprises await him once he meets Hugo, tea shop owner and ferryman who helps people cross over into the afterlife. A story about grief, loss, and love, this quirky fantasy-romance invites you to reflect on what matters most in life.

-Reviewed by Jessica


Staff Pick Badge
Anathem By Neal Stephenson Cover Image
$9.00
ISBN: 9780061694943
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - November 30th, 2010

Anathem follows the story of a devout named Fraa Erasmus, who ventures beyond the walls of his closed convent, rooted in rituals and ancient wisdom. His quest has him interacting with the secular, technologically-advanced world, as he searches for answers in the mystery of his exiled mentor. If you’re into complex world-building rich with lore and its own language, this is a book for you.

-Reviewed by Clement


Staff Pick Badge
A Psalm for the Wild-Built (Monk & Robot #1) By Becky Chambers Cover Image
$20.99
ISBN: 9781250236210
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Tordotcom - July 13th, 2021

This is a wonder of a book. It is kind. It is caring. It wraps you up in its pages and tells you that maybe, just maybe, everything isn't quite as broken as it seems. This is a book that I still smile to think about, weeks after finishing it. Like nothing so much as a hug from a friend that you haven't seen in far, far too long.

-Reviewed by Constantine


Staff Pick Badge
Ariadne: A Novel By Jennifer Saint Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250773593
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Flatiron Books - April 5th, 2022

Fragile mortals, fallen heroes, depraved gods, and a trail of women in their wake. Ariadne, Princess of Crete and sister to the Minotaur has a few things to say on sisterhood, Theseus, and the gods. Emboldened to action against her tyrannical father, she sets off a chain of events which are the stuff of myth and legend. But she is the teller of her own tale now, and she will command your attention.

-Reviewed by Elizabeth


Staff Pick Badge
Red Mars (Mars Trilogy #1) By Kim Stanley Robinson Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593358825
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Del Rey - November 23rd, 2021

The beginning to a classic sci-fi trilogy. Robinson explores the potential of colonization of mars with murder, romance, revenge, betrayal, and revolution along the way. I love this trilogy because of how in the weeds they get about the science; obviously there is a lot of speculation but it feels more plausible in the short term than other sci-fi novels. Kim Stanley Robinson may be the best eco-sci-fi writer to ever publish a book.

-Reviewed by Brad


Staff Pick Badge
The Witch's Heart By Genevieve Gornichec Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593101193
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Ace - November 30th, 2021

This book utterly consumed me. When I wasn't reading it, I couldn't stop thinking about it. In Norse myth, Angrboda is only mentioned briefly as the giantess who births Loki’s three monstrous children. In The Witch’s Heart, she becomes a powerful tragic figure: a witch who has altered the course of the world, a mother devoted to her children, a woman betrayed by her lover. I can’t put this in your hands fast enough.

-Reviewed by Breanna


Staff Pick Badge
A Witch in Time By Constance Sayers Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316493611
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Redhook - August 18th, 2020

Helen Lambert doesn’t believe that she is cursed, but that’s before the demon arrives and she dreams of past lives that eerily echo her own doomed love affair. In this life, finally, Helen may be able to break the curse—if she kill the one she loves. My heart broke repeatedly as I read this book, unable to put it down. This is an incredible blend of fantasy and historical fiction perfect for fans of A Secret History of Witches.

-Reviewed by Breanna


Staff Pick Badge
The Ten Thousand Doors of January By Alix E. Harrow Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316421973
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Redhook - May 12th, 2020

I think we could all use something a little transporting right now, and this book is perfect if you’re looking for something light, magical, and lyrical. Join the titular January as she discovers herself and her family’s past; travel to enchanting other worlds; and discover the power of words. Perfect for anyone who loved The Starless Sea or Every Heart a Doorway.

-Reviewed by Julia


Staff Pick Badge
A Deadly Education: A Novel (The Scholomance #1) By Naomi Novik Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593128503
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Del Rey - May 4th, 2021

A Deadly Education is absolutely delicious, and I enjoyed every page! The Scholomance is a ruthlessly dangerous magic school, where even sitting in the wrong seat at breakfast could mean death. El is a third year student with an affinity for mass destruction, who is struggling to NOT kill all her classmates. Full of scheming, sarcastic teenage angst, and dark humor, this is the fantasy novel I didn't know I was dying for.

-Reviewed by Julia


Staff Pick Badge
She Who Became the Sun (The Radiant Emperor Duology #1) By Shelley Parker-Chan Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250621818
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Tor Books - June 28th, 2022

Taking on the Mulan legend, Shelly Parker-Chan gives the story more edge and a more feminist slant. Power, passion, violence and mythology wind throughout the story of one woman's embrace of her mandate. Set at the end of the Yuan dynasty, when politics and superstition walk side by side, Zhu uses both to her advantage to take her place as the first Ming emperor. The writing is both epic and intimate.

-Reviewed by Liesl


Staff Pick Badge
The Once and Future Witches By Alix E. Harrow Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316422017
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Redhook - September 28th, 2021

Witching hour is here. 1893, New Salem, and the Sisters of Avalon have just announced their presence — a witchy sisterhood, hellbent on patriarchal destruction. Historic yet fantastical, this delightful concoction brews an empowering tale for women and speaks to the complexities of bonds, whether witchy, sisterly, or social. A must read for fans of chasing moonbeams, vanquishing enemies, or simply, existing.

-Reviewed by Elizabeth


Scorpica (Five Queendoms, The #1) By G.R. Macallister Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781982167905
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - November 15th, 2022

What an amazing matriarchal fantasy! Scorpica has it all—warrior women, mysterious sorcerers, an ancient power rising, and a devastating Drought of Girls. The writing is rich and complex, building the layered world and epic conflict as each woman contemplates the ends she will go to in order to leave her legacy in the Five Queendoms. If you want epic fantasy written by and about women, this is absolutely the one.

-Reviewed by Breanna


Staff Pick Badge
For the Wolf (The Wilderwood #1) By Hannah Whitten Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316592789
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Orbit - June 1st, 2021

Red’s only purpose in life is to be sacrificed to the Wolf of the Wilderwood, but from the moment she steps into the woods, everything she knows is completely wrong. Fraught with sharp words, dripping in shadows and blood, driven by the love of sisters, this book will consume you. Familiar fairy tale elements are twisted into a dark, brilliantly original tale reminiscent of The Hazel Wood and Uprooted. I’m dying for the sequel! 

-Reviewed by Breanna


Staff Pick Badge
The Kingdoms By Natasha Pulley Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781635579529
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - July 26th, 2022

The Kingdoms was a delightfully unexpected read. I was expecting a historical mystery, I wasn't expecting the history itself to be the mystery. We meet Joe, and he has no memories prior to waking up on the train. What follows is an atmospheric and complex novel of "what if'? As the pace quickens to the end, you realize the clues were there if you knew where to look.  Our staff book group and had a lively discussion! 

-Reviewed by Liesl


Staff Pick Badge
The Cabinet By Un-su Kim, Sean Lin Halbert (Translated by) Cover Image
By Un-su Kim, Sean Lin Halbert (Translated by)
$15.99
ISBN: 9780857669179
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Angry Robot - October 12th, 2021

At a boring job, office administrator Mr. Kong has the privilege of looking over Cabinet 13, which holds files on the bizarre ‘symptomers’, or people who have evolved in unique ways (like growing gingko trees from their pinkies). This fun book reminded me of The House in the Cerulean Sea, but with a wryer tone, more mature prose, and a few more criticisms of capitalism.

-Reviewed by Kate


303-447-2074
1107 Pearl Street, Boulder, Colorado 80302
info@boulderbookstore.com
Mon-Sat: 10am-10pm | Sun: 11am-7pm