ABA Mobile Menu

Olivia's Recommendations

Staff Pick Badge
Educated: A Memoir Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780399590504
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Random House - February 20th, 2018

Educated is the incredible and inspirational true story of Tara Westover, who survived her Mormon survivalist family and earned a PhD from Cambridge. Growing up in a family with parents who don’t believe in school, birth certificates, seatbelts, or Western medicine, Westover learned to fight for herself from an early age. Her courage, determination, and self-reliance are nothing short of astonishing.


Staff Pick Badge
Sharp Objects: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780307341556
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Broadway Books - July 31st, 2007

Journalist Camille Preaker returns to her Missouri hometown on assignment: to cover the mysterious deaths of two local girls, presumed to be the work of a serial killer. While working, Camille is forced to make temporary peace in her childhood home, and make (temporary) peace with her self-centered mother and spoiled half-sister. Camille’s past, present, and future become horribly intertwined in this thriller. 


Staff Pick Badge
The Almost Sisters: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062105721
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - May 29th, 2018

Here we follow a few generations of the Birch family. Sisters Leia and Rachel couldn’t be more different, until an unexpected pregnancy and an imploding marriage put the two on similar footing. But when you add their aging grandmother’s dangerous antics, one friend’s steadfast loyalty, and an ancient secret buried in the attic, the lives of the Birch women are about to be turned upside down.


Staff Pick Badge
Flirting with Fire (Hot in Chicago) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781476785905
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Pocket Books - March 24th, 2015

Rest assured that Flirting with Fire delivers plenty of heat, good times, and swoon-worthy hunks. But know that this feminist romance novel depicts women asking for what they want (both in and out of the bedroom), pushes back against sexism, and confronts toxic masculinity. Kinsey and Luke are determined, strong-willed, and loyal to family, and their steamy encounters will have you dismantling your smoke alarms. 


Staff Pick Badge
Ordeal by Innocence Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780062073525
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - February 2011

Dr. Calgary expected gratitude from the Argyle family after providing a too-late alibi for the disgraced Argyle son who was wrongly imprisoned for his mother’s murder. But when the Argyle family becomes angry that their scapegoat won’t hold up, Dr. Calgary takes it upon himself to investigate. You’ll be up way past your bedtime to find out who killed Mrs. Argyle. Oh, and the ending? You won’t see it coming.


Staff Pick Badge
The Proposal Cover Image
$9.00
ISBN: 9780399587689
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Berkley - October 30th, 2018

When Nik rejects a surprise proposal at a Dodgers game for several great reasons, two strangers step in to sweep her to safety. And when one of her rescuers turns out to be hot pediatrician Carlos, Nik just can’t say no to a fun rebound fling. The Proposal is a breeze and even more witty, charming, and delightful that Guillory’s excellent debut novel, The Wedding Date. 


Staff Pick Badge
Unthinkable: An Extraordinary Journey Through the World's Strangest Brains Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062391162
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Ecco - June 26th, 2018

Brains are powerful, fascinating, and mysterious. For all of our medical advancements, neurologists are still learning how typical brains work and often do so by studying atypical brains. Here you’ll learn about memory, reality, and hallucinations. This book is full of illustrative case studies of atypical brains and Thomson strikes the nonfiction balance between being educational without being pretentious. You’ll close this book in awe, and maybe a little bit afraid, of your brain. 


Staff Pick Badge
Bel Canto Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780060838720
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Harper Perennial - August 2nd, 2005

When opera singer Roxane Coss sings, you listen. When a terrorist group crashes the party to take the President, you listen then, too. Told over the course of a hostage situation, both tensions and hope are high for both the hostages and the terrorists. Each sentence in Ann Patchett’s masterpiece is perfectly crafted. For at a party with many languages spoken, music becomes the universal language of love.


Staff Pick Badge
The Power Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780316547611
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Little, Brown and Company - October 10th, 2017

What would happen to society if teenage girls could suddenly cause harm and even kill? What happens when our power structures shift and women run the world? Through shifting perspectives, Alderman examines this shift from multiple angles. Perfect for fans of Margaret Atwood, this book will challenge you to imagine an alternate future.


Staff Pick Badge
Next Year in Havana Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780399586682
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Berkley - February 6th, 2018

Marisol, a Cuban American woman, travels to Havana after her beloved grandmother dies. From there, we follow two timelines: the present, as Marisol learns more about her family, and 1958 Havana, when Marisol’s grandmother was a young woman in love during the Revolution. You’ll laugh, cry, and gasp as Marisol’s family secrets are revealed. Cleeton captures the beauty in both past and present day Cuba.


Staff Pick Badge
Everything I Never Told You: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143127550
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Penguin Books - May 12th, 2015

When the favorite daughter is found dead in the local lake, one family’s life will fall apart. This book alternately focuses on each member of the central Chinese American family living in Ohio in the 1970s. Celeste Ng writes beautifully about the heartache of fitting in, the weight of familial pressure, and the danger of keeping your mouth shut. This slow burn of a novel will have you crying by the end.