303-447-2074
1107 Pearl Street, Boulder, CO 80302
Mon-Sat: 10am-10pm | Sun: 11am-7pm
My Account

Kate's Recommendations

Staff Pick Badge
Lapvona: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593300268
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Penguin Press - June 21st, 2022

Set in medieval times, Lapvona tells the story of what happens when the son of a shepherd swaps places with the governor’s son. This is a fast-paced tragicomedy where every character falls prey to their personal delusions. There are so many unexpected twists up until the very last page, making this my favorite book by Moshfegh yet. 


Staff Pick Badge
Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781982167363
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Washington Square Press - June 28th, 2022

I laughed out loud throughout the entirety of this book. Gilda is an anxious and depressed atheist lesbian who happens upon a job as the receptionist for a Catholic church. Watching her play the part of a straight, devout Catholic as she inserts herself into a local murder mystery is hilarious. The turmoil of Gilda’s personal life makes this an equally emotional and endearing novel. 


Staff Pick Badge
Moms Cover Image
By Yeong-shin Ma, Janet Hong (Translated by)
$29.95
ISBN: 9781770464001
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Drawn and Quarterly - August 4th, 2020

This is like Sex and the City but if the characters were instead overworked and underappreciated moms. Despite these women having to put up with a lot of BS in their lives, this graphic novel still manages to be funny. Overall, Moms tells a good story that had me rooting for each character.


Staff Pick Badge
Detransition, Baby: A Novel Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593133385
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: One World - October 5th, 2021

I’m conflicted on how I feel about this book. I struggled to like the characters despite feeling empathy for them, and the story didn’t leave me feeling great. However, I think that’s the point. Torrey Peters has created something novel that depicts the varying experiences of and perspectives on transness. This is an important read, and it’s one that I managed to finish in a day because of how invested I was.


Staff Pick Badge
Why We Swim Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781643751375
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Algonquin Books - April 13th, 2021

Even if you’re not a swimmer, this is a fascinating and inspiring read. Bonnie Tsui interviews about a dozen people from around the world to unearth the different intentions and histories behind a seemingly simple sport. Personal yet informative, this book looks at the connection between mind and body and explains why humans are drawn to water despite its dangers.


Staff Pick Badge
Chaos: Charles Manson, the CIA, and the Secret History of the Sixties Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316477543
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Back Bay Books - June 23rd, 2020

Reading this is a TRIP, and it covers so many theories around the Manson Family that it’s hard to write a review that will really do this book justice. Tom O’Neill does a great job of looking at all the questionable aspects of the case while still keeping his perspective grounded in reality. This is a book for people who love conspiracy theories, history, or just good journalism.


Staff Pick Badge
The Child Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781948830409
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Open Letter - December 7th, 2021

A mother narrates her life story and current anxieties to her newborn daughter. While a simple premise, the writing in this book is so beautiful and profound that I plan on rereading it soon so I can write down my favorite quotes. Skomsvold’s imagery is both detailed and straight-forward, and together creates a succinct story filled with nostalgia.


Staff Pick Badge
Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781982167356
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Atria Books - July 6th, 2021

I laughed out loud throughout the entirety of this book. Gilda is an anxious and depressed atheist lesbian who happens upon a job as the receptionist for a Catholic church. Watching her play the part of a straight, devout Catholic as she inserts herself into a local murder mystery is hilarious. The turmoil of Gilda’s personal life makes this an equally emotional and endearing novel.


Staff Pick Badge
I Got a Monster: The Rise and Fall of America's Most Corrupt Police Squad Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250221827
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - September 14th, 2021

If you like movies about criminal cops, this true story about a squad of corrupt Baltimore Police officers will completely hook you. While infuriating to read about civil servants stealing from citizens and violating their rights, it is also a fascinating look into the way police departments are run and manipulated. I love this book as much as I hate what it’s about.


Staff Pick Badge
Afterparties: Stories Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063049895
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Ecco - June 7th, 2022

This short story collection blew me away. Each story in Afterparties is witty and realistic, and explores themes of generational trauma, family ties, and what it means to be both queer and Cambodian in the US. Anthony Veasna So tragically died this past December, so this debut work is something to savor, treasure, and keep on one’s shelf to read again and again.


Staff Pick Badge
Nobody, Somebody, Anybody: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063002661
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Ecco - March 15th, 2022

This funny story follows Amy, a painfully awkward and isolated young woman who is propelled by her grandiose imagination throughout one summer. While somewhat outrageous, McClorey manages to portray the difficulties of making honest connections with people in today’s world. This book is perfect for fans of Ottessa Moshfegh’s My Year of Rest and Relaxation and lovingly unlovable narrators.


Staff Pick Badge
How to Kidnap the Rich: A Novel Cover Image
$10.00
ISBN: 9780063028784
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Harper Perennial - June 1st, 2021

Set in India, Ramesh is intelligent yet struggles to advance due to his poor background. He decides to take standardized tests for children of the wealthy elite, making money off getting below-average students into top universities. When Ramesh accidentally earns the highest test score in the country while posing as someone else, a wild cover-up mission ensues. This story provides a satirical take on privilege and authenticity.


Staff Pick Badge
Turtlenecks Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781935233640
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Adhouse Books - June 8th, 2021

A group of art students dubbed “The Turtlenecks” team up against an exploitative art gallery to steal their artwork back. The heist they plan is both conceptual and literal, resulting in a laugh out loud story that endearingly pokes fun at the fine art world. The drawings, dialogue, and wonderful cast of characters will put a smile on your face.


Staff Pick Badge
Agatha of Little Neon: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780374265267
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - August 3rd, 2021

Agatha joins a convent to gain a community. For 7 years everything is the same, which is comforting, until the church transfers Agatha and her sisters to a halfway house called Little Neon. There, Agatha begins to question how to belong somewhere while still being her own person. With a wry and quirky voice and chapters that are mainly 2 or 3 pages long, this is a fun and fast-paced read.


Staff Pick Badge
Reckless Daughter: A Portrait of Joni Mitchell Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9780374538064
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Sarah Crichton Books - October 2nd, 2018

David Yaffe does a great job documenting Joni’s life, from her childhood to the recordings and initial reviews of each one of her albums. What truly makes this biography worth reading, however, are the interviews Yaffe conducts with Mitchell, in which she talks about love, songwriting, and life in her typical blunt manner. Reading about Joni’s brief time in Boulder is just an added delight to this in-depth work.


Staff Pick Badge
The Lost Shtetl: A Novel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062991133
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: HarperVia - October 5th, 2021

Set in Poland, the tiny Jewish village of Kreskol has been isolated from the rest of the world for centuries, remaining unaffected by such phenomena as the Holocaust, the Cold War, and electricity. When the modern world finally takes notice of Kreskol, the villagers are confronted with 21st century technology — and the history they missed out on — for the first time, creating a story that is both funny and painful.


Staff Pick Badge
The Right to Sex: Feminism in the Twenty-First Century Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780374248529
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - September 21st, 2021

This book of essays is great because it is both important and easy to understand. Srinivasan tackles issues such as incel culture, the porn industry, the way politics shape our desire (and vice versa), and why the #MeToo movement is only meant for white women. Reading this is bound to spark critical thoughts and conversations about intersectionality and today’s culture of sex.


Staff Pick Badge
Collected Poems of Jack Gilbert Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780375711763
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Knopf - September 2nd, 2014

Jack Gilbert’s poetry is breathtaking, covering familiar themes of love and loneliness without being cliche. This volume contains his best work, and it’s the one collection of poetry I go back to most often. If you’re still on the fence about needing this book, give a quick read to the poems on pages 125, 213, and 218.


Staff Pick Badge
Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever? Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780307947536
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Vintage - May 26th, 2015

Thomas, a self-described “moral and clean-cut guy”, is distraught over the direction of his life and the way the world works. Seeking answers, he begins to kidnap people who have been influential in his life. Told only in dialogue, this is a suspenseful novel that also manages to be hilarious. Plus, it has all the darkness and wit that fans of Eggers will recognize.


303-447-2074
1107 Pearl Street, Boulder, Colorado 80302
info@boulderbookstore.com
Mon-Sat: 10am-10pm | Sun: 11am-7pm