ABA Mobile Menu

Breanna's Recommendations

Staff Pick Badge
Black Sun (Between Earth and Sky) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781534437678
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - October 13th, 2020

A dead crow god rising, a sun priest clinging to power, and a mythical sea captain dominate this vivid world that Roanhorse has created, using a magic system steeped in myth and legend. Based on pre-Columbian American civilizations, this book is a shining beacon among numerous European-derived fantasies. After just one read, I am already certain this will remain among my favorite epic fantasies for a long time.


Staff Pick Badge
The Order of the Pure Moon Reflected in Water Cover Image
By Zen Cho
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250269256
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Tordotcom - June 23rd, 2020

On the surface, this novella is a quick romp with the martial arts heroes of wuxia fantasy through war-torn world. Despite the short length, it's also a deeply touching, thought-provoking story about the families we make, the identities we adopt during crisis, and the choices we make to survive. I loved the sharp banter, the influence of Cho’s Malaysian roots, the LGBT+ themes, and quick pace—I only wish it was longer!


Staff Pick Badge
The Library of the Unwritten (A Novel from Hell's Library #1) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781984806376
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Ace - October 1st, 2019

Claire Hadley is a librarian—the librarian of the Unwritten Wing of Hell’s Library, where unfinished stories reside and books come alive as literal characters. When the Devil’s Bible resurfaces, Claire is caught in the middle of angels and demons vying for the powerful artifact. Action-packed, exciting, and dark with a glimmer of hope on the horizon, this is a fantastic read for people who love stories and books that crawl inside your skin.


Staff Pick Badge
Before the Coffee Gets Cold Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781335430991
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Hanover Square Press - November 17th, 2020

Would you go back in time, even if you knew the present wouldn’t change? In this novelization of a Japanese play, a particular seat in this cafe lets you do just that. But you can’t change the present, you can’t leave the cafe seat, and above all—you must return before the coffee gets cold. I was captivated by this beautiful story, a simple yet touching look at how we choose to live the life we are given.


Staff Pick Badge
Hall of Smoke Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781789094985
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Titan Books - January 19th, 2021

Hall of Smoke is a long and wild ride through a Viking fantasy world, filled with harsh gods, magic-wielding priestesses, and a blood-soaked quest for redemption. As Hessa fights to win back her goddess’s favor, she uncovers impossible truths about the war and their gods. If you liked The Priory of the Orange Tree or The Poppy War, you need to lose yourself in this heart pounding adventure. 


Staff Pick Badge
The Witch's Heart Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780593099940
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Ace - February 9th, 2021

This book utterly consumed me. When I wasn't reading it, I couldn't stop thinking about it. In Norse myth, Angrboda is only mentioned briefly as the giantess who births Loki’s three monstrous children. In The Witch’s Heart, she becomes a powerful tragic figure: a witch who has altered the course of the world, a mother devoted to her children, a woman betrayed by her lover. I can’t put this in your hands fast enough. 


Staff Pick Badge
The Glass Magician Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780765335043
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Tor Books - April 7th, 2020

New York, 1905. After she’s fired for violating a noncompete clause, Thalia fights to prove that her stage manager and dear friend did not murder her onstage rival. But that’s hard to do when she’s also struggling with her newfound heritage as a shapeshifter—until she masters this new ability, she’s being hunted. Shapeshifter magic fills this murder mystery interwoven with dazzling sleight of hand tricks, making The Glass Magician the perfect fun read to escape for a few hours.


Staff Pick Badge
A Witch in Time Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780316493598
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Redhook - February 11th, 2020

Helen Lambert doesn’t believe that she is cursed, but that’s before the demon arrives and she dreams of past lives that eerily echo her own doomed love affair. In this life, finally, Helen may be able to break the curse—if she kill the one she loves. My heart broke repeatedly as I read this book, unable to put it down. This is an incredible blend of fantasy and historical fiction perfect for fans of A Secret History of Witches.


Staff Pick Badge
The Age of Witches: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316419512
Availability: NOT on our shelves - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Redhook - April 7th, 2020

Two witches, descended from a common ancestor, are locked in a power struggle in Gilded Age New York. One uses herbalism to heal; the other uses dark magic for personal gain. Their war will be decided by Annis, their cousin who must claim her own power. Steeped in magic and rooted in the eternal clash between good and evil, this novel is a stunning addition to Morgan’s growing collection of witch novels.


Staff Pick Badge
Warrior of the Altaii Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250247650
Availability: NOT on our shelves - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Books - October 8th, 2019

Quick-moving, action-packed, and inventive, this book was everything I wanted it to be! Posthumously published, Robert Jordan wrote Warrior of the Altaii before the Wheel of Time series. For WoT fans, it is an absolutely fascinating read that foreshadows many things to come in the series. For any fantasy lover, it is a thoroughly enjoyable throwback to the sword and sorcery novels that I highly recommend. 


Staff Pick Badge
Dragonslayer (The Dragonslayer #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250306739
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Tor Books - July 2nd, 2019

The last dragon has awoken, and it falls to the last member of the dragon-slaying Chevaliers of the Silver Circle to kill it. There’s just one problem — Gill, though technically a Chevalier, is now a drunkard who can barely lift his sword and has never even seen a dragon before. Dragonslayer is easy to sink into, a timeless story set in a classic medieval fantasy world. Quick and fun, it’s a great summer read.


Staff Pick Badge
The Book Charmer (Dove Pond Series #1) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781982105549
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Gallery Books - July 30th, 2019

I was charmed by this cozy novel and the delightfully quirky town at the center of it. Librarian Sarah Dove is dedicated to saving Dove Pond, on the brink of financial ruin. Grace Wheeler wants nothing more than to leave this town, especially with its odd tales of magic — like the librarian that talks with books. This is a feel-good, sweet-hearted read that is perfect for taking on the go.


Staff Pick Badge
Wild Words: Rituals, Routines, and Rhythms for Braving the Writer's Path Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781611806656
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Roost Books - October 15th, 2019

Wild Words is about the seasons in a writer’s life, through ups and downs, and is so accurate and heartfelt that at one point I sat up and said, “That’s me! She’s describing me!” This book is about acknowledging and honoring each season in the writing life, and looking at how to move forward. Full of personal stories, kind advice, and excellent exercises, this book is perfect for fans of Writing Down the Bones.