303-447-2074
1107 Pearl Street, Boulder, CO 80302
Mon-Thurs: 10am-8pm | Fri-Sat: 10am-9pm | Sun: 11am-7pm
My Account

Breanna's Recommendations

Breanna, Business and Education Sales Coordinator

Favorite Genres: Middle grade, anything fantasy (especially epic, the larger the better), YA (but mostly fantasy), stories based in mythology or fairy tales, witchy books
Favorite Authors: Robert Jordan, Samantha Shannon, Brandon Sanderson, Rick Riordan, Margaret Owen, Natalie Goldberg

Staff Pick Badge
Before the Coffee Gets Cold Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781335430991
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Hanover Square Press - November 17th, 2020

Would you go back in time, even if you knew the present wouldn’t change? In this novelization of a Japanese play, a particular seat in this cafe lets you do just that. But you can’t change the present, you can’t leave the cafe seat, and above all—you must return before the coffee gets cold. I was captivated by this beautiful story, a simple yet touching look at how we choose to live the life we are given.


Staff Pick Badge
Tales from the Cafe Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781335630988
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Hanover Square Press - October 12th, 2021

This sequel to Before the Coffee Gets Cold shares four more thought provoking stories of people who choose to travel back in time, despite being unable to change the present. I was deeply moved by these stories that speak to the core of our humanity, invoking our craving for emotion and connection.  It's a perfect reflective read for a cozy night, or as a thoughtful gift for a close friend.


Staff Pick Badge
A Witch in Time Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316493611
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Redhook - August 18th, 2020

Helen Lambert doesn’t believe that she is cursed, but that’s before the demon arrives and she dreams of past lives that eerily echo her own doomed love affair. In this life, finally, Helen may be able to break the curse—if she kill the one she loves. My heart broke repeatedly as I read this book, unable to put it down. This is an incredible blend of fantasy and historical fiction perfect for fans of A Secret History of Witches.


Staff Pick Badge
The Witch's Heart Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593101193
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Ace - November 30th, 2021

This book utterly consumed me. When I wasn't reading it, I couldn't stop thinking about it. In Norse myth, Angrboda is only mentioned briefly as the giantess who births Loki’s three monstrous children. In The Witch’s Heart, she becomes a powerful tragic figure: a witch who has altered the course of the world, a mother devoted to her children, a woman betrayed by her lover. I can’t put this in your hands fast enough.


Staff Pick Badge
For the Wolf (The Wilderwood #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316592789
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Orbit - June 1st, 2021

Red’s only purpose in life is to be sacrificed to the Wolf of the Wilderwood, but from the moment she steps into the woods, everything she knows is completely wrong. Fraught with sharp words, dripping in shadows and blood, driven by the love of sisters, this book will consume you. Familiar fairy tale elements are twisted into a dark, brilliantly original tale reminiscent of The Hazel Wood and Uprooted. I’m dying for the sequel!


Staff Pick Badge
The Bone Season: A Novel Cover Image
$12.00
ISBN: 9781632868480
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Bloomsbury USA - February 7th, 2017

Part futuristic sci-fi, part fantasy, part dystopian, and part underground crime ring, I promise that you haven’t read anything quite like The Bone Season. The first in an epic series, it’s a truly incredible book with a complex world, an intricate plot, and characters I would go to battle for. If you liked Priory of the Orange Tree, you absolutely must pick this one up.


Staff Pick Badge
The Eye of the World: Book One of The Wheel of Time Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250832368
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Tor Books - October 5th, 2021

This is my favorite series of all time (pun fully intended). Rand and his friends think that they're just humble farm folk, but when their village is attacked by monstrous servants of the Shadow, they're thrust into a race across the land to stop the Dark One from gaining power. This book is as epic as Name of the Wind, less dark and murder-y than Game of Thrones, and it's actually a finished series that's now a TV show!


Staff Pick Badge
Black Sun (Between Earth and Sky) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781534437685
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - June 29th, 2021

A dead crow god rising, a sun priest clinging to power, and a mythical sea captain dominate this vivid world that Roanhorse has created, using a magic system steeped in myth and legend. Based on pre-Columbian American civilizations, this book is a shining beacon among numerous European-derived fantasies. After just one read, I am already certain this will remain among my favorite epic fantasies for a long time.


Staff Pick Badge
The Order of the Pure Moon Reflected in Water Cover Image
By Zen Cho
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250269256
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Tordotcom - June 23rd, 2020

On the surface, this novella is a quick romp with the martial arts heroes of wuxia fantasy through war-torn world. Despite the short length, it's also a deeply touching, thought-provoking story about the families we make, the identities we adopt during crisis, and the choices we make to survive. I loved the sharp banter, the influence of Cho’s Malaysian roots, the LGBT+ themes, and quick pace—I only wish it was longer!


Staff Pick Badge
The Library of the Unwritten (A Novel from Hell's Library #1) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781984806376
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Ace - October 1st, 2019

Claire Hadley is a librarian—the librarian of the Unwritten Wing of Hell’s Library, where unfinished stories reside and books come alive as literal characters. When the Devil’s Bible resurfaces, Claire is caught in the middle of angels and demons vying for the powerful artifact. Action-packed, exciting, and dark with a glimmer of hope on the horizon, this is a fantastic read for people who love stories and books that crawl inside your skin.


Staff Pick Badge
Hall of Smoke Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781789094985
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Titan Books - January 19th, 2021

Hall of Smoke is a long and wild ride through a Viking fantasy world, filled with harsh gods, magic-wielding priestesses, and a blood-soaked quest for redemption. As Hessa fights to win back her goddess’s favor, she uncovers impossible truths about the war and their gods. If you liked The Priory of the Orange Tree or The Poppy War, you need to lose yourself in this heart pounding adventure. 


303-447-2074
1107 Pearl Street, Boulder, Colorado 80302
info@boulderbookstore.com
Mon-Thurs: 10am-8pm | Fri-Sat: 10am-9pm | Sun: 11am-7pm