ABA Mobile Menu

Breanna's Recommendations

Staff Pick Badge
The Book Charmer (Dove Pond Series #1) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781982105549
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Gallery Books - July 30th, 2019

I was charmed by this cozy novel and the delightfully quirky town at the center of it. Librarian Sarah Dove is dedicated to saving Dove Pond, on the brink of financial ruin. Grace Wheeler wants nothing more than to leave this town, especially with its odd tales of magic — like the librarian that talks with books. This is a feel-good, sweet-hearted read that is perfect for taking on the go.


Staff Pick Badge
The Lost Queen: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781501191428
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Atria Books - June 4th, 2019

Did you know that the man who inspired the myth of Merlin had a twin sister? I didn’t, but after reading The Lost Queen I’m absolutely in love with her. Surrounded by men who will become legends, Langoureth is a fierce heroine who fights to protect her people and the Old Ways. A historical fiction with faint etchings of fantasy, this book is reminiscent of Outlander and The Mists of Avalon


Staff Pick Badge
Wild Words: Rituals, Routines, and Rhythms for Braving the Writer's Path Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781611806656
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Roost Books - October 15th, 2019

Wild Words is about the seasons in a writer’s life, through ups and downs, and is so accurate and heartfelt that at one point I sat up and said, “That’s me! She’s describing me!” This book is about acknowledging and honoring each season in the writing life, and looking at how to move forward. Full of personal stories, kind advice, and excellent exercises, this book is perfect for fans of Writing Down the Bones.


Staff Pick Badge
The Glass Magician Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780765335043
Availability: NOT on our shelves - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Books - April 7th, 2020

New York, 1905. After she’s fired for violating a noncompete clause, Thalia fights to prove that her stage manager and dear friend did not murder her onstage rival. But that’s hard to do when she’s also struggling with her newfound heritage as a shapeshifter—until she masters this new ability, she’s being hunted. Shapeshifter magic fills this murder mystery interwoven with dazzling sleight of hand tricks, making The Glass Magician the perfect fun read to escape for a few hours.


Staff Pick Badge
The Library of the Unwritten (A Novel from Hell's Library #1) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781984806376
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Ace - October 1st, 2019

Claire Hadley is a librarian—the librarian of the Unwritten Wing of Hell’s Library, where unfinished stories reside and books come alive as literal characters. When the Devil’s Bible resurfaces, Claire is caught in the middle of angels and demons vying for the powerful artifact. Action-packed, exciting, and dark with a glimmer of hope on the horizon, this is a fantastic read for people who love stories and books that crawl inside your skin.


Staff Pick Badge
The Age of Witches: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316419512
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Redhook - April 7th, 2020

Two witches, descended from a common ancestor, are locked in a power struggle in Gilded Age New York. One uses herbalism to heal; the other uses dark magic for personal gain. Their war will be decided by Annis, their cousin who must claim her own power. Steeped in magic and rooted in the eternal clash between good and evil, this novel is a stunning addition to Morgan’s growing collection of witch novels.


Staff Pick Badge
A Witch in Time Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780316493598
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Redhook - February 11th, 2020

Helen Lambert doesn’t believe that she is cursed, but that’s before the demon arrives and she dreams of past lives that eerily echo her own doomed love affair. In this life, finally, Helen may be able to break the curse—if she kill the one she loves. My heart broke repeatedly as I read this book, unable to put it down. This is an incredible blend of fantasy and historical fiction perfect for fans of A Secret History of Witches.


Staff Pick Badge
Dragonslayer (The Dragonslayer #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250306739
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Tor Books - July 2nd, 2019

The last dragon has awoken, and it falls to the last member of the dragon-slaying Chevaliers of the Silver Circle to kill it. There’s just one problem — Gill, though technically a Chevalier, is now a drunkard who can barely lift his sword and has never even seen a dragon before. Dragonslayer is easy to sink into, a timeless story set in a classic medieval fantasy world. Quick and fun, it’s a great summer read.


Staff Pick Badge
William Shakespeare's Much Ado About Mean Girls (Pop Shakespeare #1) Cover Image
By Ian Doescher, Kent Barton (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781683691174
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Quirk Books - April 23rd, 2019

I tried to write this review in iambic pentameter, but turns out it’s a lot harder than Ian Doescher makes it look. He does such a good job of reimagining beloved quotes and classic scenes from Mean Girls into a Shakespeare play that you’ll start to wonder if the Bard himself has returned as a Tina Fey fan. The limit may not exist, but I am so glad that this book does.


Staff Pick Badge
Heartstone (Heartstone Series #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062451941
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Harper Voyager - January 17th, 2017

It is a truth universally acknowledged that a single reader in possession of a good book must be in want of a dragon. This is the classic tale of Pride and Prejudice — but Darcy is a gryphon-slaying dragon rider! I absolutely loved the way Heartstone took all my favorite elements of Austen’s novel and planted them in a fantasy world filled with epic battles.


Staff Pick Badge
The Witch's Kind: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780316419468
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
Published: Redhook - March 19th, 2019

What shines through in The Witch’s Kind is the strength of women: their ability to endure and to protect those they love. Subtle elements of fantasy are woven into this historical fiction novel about Barrie Anne and her aunt Charlotte, whose lives are changed by the discovery of an abandoned baby who shares their own magic affinity for water. This is perfect for fans of A Secret History of Witches and The Lost Queen