303-447-2074
1107 Pearl Street, Boulder, CO 80302
Mon-Sat: 10am-10pm | Sun: 11am-7pm
My Account

Gilgamesh: The Sumerians Trilogy (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Gilgamesh: The Sumerians Trilogy By Emily H. Wilson Cover Image
$17.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the The Sumerians Trilogy series.

Description


The second book in the enthralling and lyrical Sumerians trilogy, retelling the Epic of Gilgamesh, perfect for fans of Madeline Miller, Lucy Holland and Jennifer Saint.

Now is the time for the gods of war

Gilgamesh, soon to be crowned King of Uruk, travels north to find his homelands in flames and his family on the run. A blood-red moon brings warnings of a new kind of war, and in the far north, the enemies of Sumer are massing.

Inanna and Ninshubar sail south to take their revenge upon Enki, the king of the water gods. Armed with the master mee and struggling to understand its true nature, Inanna will face impossible demons in her quest to fully comprehend the power she has inherited. 

Meanwhile Ereshkigal, queen of the underworld, has a mysterious visitor. This dark stranger brings with him the threat of dangers far more terrible than Enki, or even Sumer’s warlike neighbours. Because a long time ago, in a realm faraway, a little girl was taken from her family. Now, a vengeance, long prophesied, is about to unfold.

As the forces of chaos rise across the riverlands, Gilgamesh must battle against overwhelming odds to save the city he loves, and the Anunnaki will soon discover that no one can escape the sins of the past. Not even the gods.

About the Author


Emily H. Wilson is a journalist and is the first female editor of New Scientist magazine. She has a life-long interest in prehistory and ancient history. She is married and lives in the West Country. @emilyhwilson

Praise For…


PRAISE FOR THE SUMERIANS TRILOGY


"I love it! Spectacular storytelling, vibrant prose, wonderful handling of multiple narrators, and genuinely gripping. I haven’t read a historical novel this good for years: it’s reminiscent of Rosemary Sutcliff at her peak." Joanne Harris


"Inanna may take Gilgamesh as its source material, but it is wholly its own creation. In this richly rendered world of gods, mortals and monsters, the pace never falters, and neither does the sense of an epic being constructed – like the temple to a new divinity – before your eyes. The most enjoyable novel I have read this year." Lucy Holland, author of Sistersong


"Beautifully crafted and elegantly told, I was carried away to a world both familiar and unknown - Inanna has an enthralling magic all of its own" Claire North, World Fantasy Award winner and author of Ithaca


“Inanna is a deft, mesmerising novel, with a cadence true to its epic roots and an entrancing blend of historic depth, intoxicating imagination and sheer heart. Emily H. Wilson is an author to watch, and Inanna is a gorgeous myth retelling with a very timely message about power and empowerment, and who gets to set our cultural narratives.” Lorraine Wilson, British Fantasy Award winning author


"I devoured this divine, dazzlingly witty retelling of Sumerian myths. Wilson brings the world’s most ancient texts to life as never before in this joyful, slick, and effortlessly funny novel. Her gods and heroes are heartbreakingly human, fabulously brave, teeth-gnashingly wicked and loin-stirringly sexy. I was awed by Wilson’s achievement in creating a fresh, but eternally meaningful, modern epic, while staying true to the tone, language and themes of the ancient poems. This is a glittering gem of a book: rare and exhilarating; a sensation!" Nikki Marmery, author of Lilith

"A brutal and powerful story...Emily H. Wilson is an author to watch" Grimdark Magazine


"Inanna is an epic fantasy, with wars and high-born people competing for high stakes with incredible skills, but set in a world recognisably ours, a world you could imagine yourself living in if you squint a little. It will appeal to fans of any retelling, especially those who have feasted on the recent glut of retellings from Ancient Greek mythology and can’t get enough of gods behaving badly and what that tells us about ourselves." British Fantasy Society


"In Emily H. Wilson's Inanna, the author makes the Gods flawed and interesting, but also otherwordly." SFBook Reviews
Product Details
ISBN: 9781803364421
ISBN-10: 1803364424
Publisher: Titan Books
Publication Date: August 6th, 2024
Pages: 512
Language: English
Series: The Sumerians Trilogy
303-447-2074
1107 Pearl Street, Boulder, Colorado 80302
info@boulderbookstore.com
Mon-Sat: 10am-10pm | Sun: 11am-7pm
Find Us on Kayak Guides