303-447-2074
1107 Pearl Street, Boulder, CO 80302
Mon-Sat: 10am-10pm | Sun: 11am-7pm
My Account

The Boy Who Tried to Shrink His Name: A Picture Book (Hardcover)

The Boy Who Tried to Shrink His Name: A Picture Book By Sandhya Parappukkaran, Michelle Pereira (Illustrator) Cover Image
$17.99
NOT on our shelves - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Perfect for fans of Alma and How She Got Her Name and Your Name Is a Song, author Sandhya Parappukkaranand illustrator Michelle Pereira’spicture book The Boy Who Tried to Shrink His Nameencourages readers to take up space and support each other with respect and kindness.
 
When Zimdalamashkermishkada starts at a new school, he knows he’ll have to introduce himself to lots of new people. He trips over his long name and decides to shrink it down to the shorter, simpler Zim. The nickname works fine for introductions, but deep down, it doesn’t feel right. It’s not until a new friend sees him for who he truly is that Zimdalamashkermishkada finds the confidence to step proudly into his long name.
 
The Boy Who Tried to Shrink His Name is a warm and uplifting story that encourages young readers to celebrate their authentic selves and that proclaims no one should ever have to shrink themselves to fit in.
 
“This sensitive book will make an excellent lead-in to age-appropriate discussions about difference and belonging.” —Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (Starred Review)

 

About the Author


Sandhya Parappukkaran is the author of books like The Boy Who Tried to Shrink His Name. She left her job as a food technologist so she could put her feet up and read. Then she rediscovered her passion for children’s books. Her stories are inspired by her multicultural experience and include scrumptious food from her South Indian heritage. She resides in Brisbane with her family.

Praise For…


**STARRED REVIEW** 
“With gentle compassion and tender wisdom, this Australian import portrays the challenges and joys of starting over in a new setting, juxtaposing fraught school days with the cozy warmth of evenings at home. Pereira’s block print style digital artwork brings Zimdalamashkermishkada’s name to vibrant life. When he begins to teach Elly his name, the unruly shapes begin to take the form of a bird, adding more detail with each syllable until it soars gloriously across a two-page spread in joyous, fiery tones when Elly says the whole thing. This sensitive book will make an excellent lead-in to age-appropriate discussions about difference and belonging.”


— Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

“The orange cord turns into a bird, soaring around the new friends as the story finds a satisfying crescendo. This story shines in its gentle insistence that, with time and practice, we can learn new things—and that there’s nothing like a trusty friend. The art and language are lovely, with details to note with repeated readings.”
— Booklist

"For intercultural sharing, for awakening ­compassion, for tending empathy, or the SEL shelves, this story has many uses and should not be missed."
— School Library Journal
Product Details
ISBN: 9781419761584
ISBN-10: 1419761587
Publisher: Abrams Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: January 10th, 2023
Pages: 40
Language: English
303-447-2074
1107 Pearl Street, Boulder, Colorado 80302
info@boulderbookstore.com
Mon-Sat: 10am-10pm | Sun: 11am-7pm
Find Us on Kayak Guides