303-447-2074
1107 Pearl Street, Boulder, CO 80302
Mon-Sat: 10am-9pm | Sun: 11am-7pm
My Account

Clarice the Brave (Hardcover)

Clarice the Brave Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now. Click on the title to see details.
5 on hand, as of Oct 28 2:05pm
(MID RDR/REC)

Description


New York Times bestselling author of The Unwanteds brings us an epic animal adventure story perfect for fans of Pax and A Wolf Called Wander.

The only good cat is a fed cat. Clarice, a young ship mouse, knows this to be true.

She and her brother, Charles Sebastian, were taught to be careful—as all mice are—but caution is no match for the sea, which took their mother, and it is certainly no match for Special Lady, the horrid cat who ate their sister. Now the siblings hide in their pantry crate, knowing every move they make could be their last.
 
When a shocking mutiny forces Clarice onto a small, leaky boat with Special Lady and a dozen hungry sailors with deadly boots, Charles Sebastian is left on the ship to fend off mutineers, a flock of irate chickens, and an inquisitive human prisoner—a mouse’s worst enemy.
 
Being careful may have saved them in the past, but now Clarice and Charles Sebastian will need to grow bold if they are to survive . . . and keep their promise to find one other again.
 
From the New York Times bestselling author of The Unwanteds comes an unforgettable adventure filled with perseverance, kindness, and hope. 

About the Author


Lisa McMann is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of dozens of books like The Unwanteds series and the Wake trilogy. She is married to fellow writer and musician, Matt McMann, and they have two adult children--her son is artist Kilian McMann and her daughter is actor Kennedy McMann. Lisa spends most of her time in Arizona, California, and Vancouver BC, and loves to cook, read, and watch reality TV.

Praise For…


Praise for Clarice the Brave:

"[A] wondrous journey of self-discovery . . . Normalizes feelings of sadness and grief for younger readers, relayed in an assured tone and elegant prose." —Publishers Weekly

"An absorbing adventure from an unexpected perspective." —Booklist

"Very well drawn . . . A fine, unusual story." —Kirkus Reviews
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593323373
ISBN-10: 0593323378
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: October 12th, 2021
Pages: 272
Language: English
303-447-2074
1107 Pearl Street, Boulder, Colorado 80302
info@boulderbookstore.com
Mon-Sat: 10am-9pm | Sun: 11am-7pm