303-447-2074
1107 Pearl Street, Boulder, CO 80302
Mon-Sat: 10am-10pm | Sun: 11am-7pm
My Account

Nimbus (Hardcover)

Nimbus By Jan Eldredge Cover Image
$19.99
On Our Shelves now
3 on hand, as of Jun 22 8:08pm
(MIDDLE READER)

Description


From the author of Evangeline of the Bayou comes a classic middle grade animal-fantasy adventure about a black cat who must go on a magical journey to be reunited with her beloved owner. For fans of Katherine Applegate, Rosanne Parry, and readers of the Familiars series.

Nimbus had a rough start as a kitten. But her fortunes changed the day she met Fletcher. The boy nursed her back to health from a life-threatening injury and adopted her.

But when Fletcher’s aunt brings home a mysterious jar, an ancient nightmare demon is unwittingly unleashed. Despite battling the monster to save her friend, Fletcher’s superstitious aunt blames Nim for the attack and secretly abandons her at a dump.

There, Nim is befriended by a theater-loving rat and taken in by a kindly witch named Agatha and her motley crew of cats. Nim soon discovers that her battle with the demon left her with special powers—but more than that, she begins to suspect that she has always been destined for something extraordinary.

To return to her beloved Fletcher, Nim will need to harness her magical powers and enlist the help of her new friends. Along the way, she will discover she may be braver and luckier than she ever imagined.

About the Author


Jan Eldredge was born and raised in Louisiana and is the author of Evangeline of the Bayou. She now lives in Florida with her husband, their children, and a house full of cats. When she’s not writing, she spends her time reading, going to theme parks, and exploring old cemeteries. She is particularly fascinated with monsters, magic, and all such eldritch things. Learn more about Jan at www.janeldredge.com.

Praise For…


“Nimbus is as gritty and determined as she is adorable. Tear-jerker moments explore pet abandonment—readers may want their own pets on hand to hug—all the way through the magical, action-packed finale. A deeply imaginative journey that puts the “cat” in cathartic.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Fanciful, optimistic, and filled with a gentle humor, this heartrending tale offers a thoughtful exploration of animal abandonment and trauma, and the bond between owner and pet.” — Publishers Weekly

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062680372
ISBN-10: 0062680374
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: September 5th, 2023
Pages: 336
Language: English
303-447-2074
1107 Pearl Street, Boulder, Colorado 80302
info@boulderbookstore.com
Mon-Sat: 10am-10pm | Sun: 11am-7pm
Find Us on Kayak Guides